Walking Wombats, Cuddling Koalas…A Day Well Spent at the Australia Zoo

This day was a dream come true for me.

Being a fan of The Crocodile Hunter, remembering watching videos growing up, and watching Bindi on Dancing with the Stars, visiting the Australia Zoo for the day was a huge check on my bucket list.zoo

We were all so excited to go and visit, and none of us were disappointed. We made our way there around 10 in the morning and as we drove up to the entrance, the excitement took over. There is a huge sign and poster of Steve Irwin welcoming you to the zoo. As you walk in, there are photos of the family, and different souvenirs and gift shops.

We took lots of photos in the entrance area, and as we walked further down into the zoo, there were zoo keepers(or wildlife warriors) holding an owl and a snake. We stopped to meet the animals and take some photos.

When they asked if I wanted to see the snake, I was really hesitant. Snakes are one of my biggest fears, but I was able to walk up to it and stand next to it for a photo. After taking one, the one holding the snake was like “Do you want to give her a touch? She’s real sweet and gentle. Just go ahead. It’s alright”. I looked at Kathy, Barry, and Corrina, and they were all encouraging me to do it. So, I placed my hand on the snake for about 2 seconds for a photo before I had to go wash my hands and shake the nerves off.

FullSizeRender 10We continued our walk and saw lots of different animals before we decided to make our way to the food courts and gifts shops which were right next to the famous Crocoseum. When we were walking around the shops, we came across the Mirror Ball that Bindi and Derek won while she was on Dancing with the Stars. So, naturally, the fan inside of me couldn’t help but take a photo.

After a cup of coffee, we all headed to the Crocoseum for the Wildlife show. After taking a moment to pay tribute to Steve Irwin, we got to see lots of different birds, snakes, of course, crocodiles. Not only did we get to see these animals, but we also got to learn all about them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the biggest highlights of the day was definitely getting a photo taken. Not just any photo, but it was one where I got to hold a koala. I may not look like it in the photo, but I was so happy. A little nervous, but happy. I didn’t want to have to give the koala back to the zookeeper. zooo

Throughout the rest of our day, we walked through the rest of the exhibits and got to see lots of different animals. One of my favorite parts was when we got to walk through this open area where lots of kangaroos were at. They came right up next to you and we were able to pet them and sit down for rest with them.

We also walked through the Asia exhibit, and made our way to Bindi’s Island where we got to explore some more. Before leaving, we got to chat with one of the zookeepers who was taking a wombat for a walk and we also got to pet a koala.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By the end of the afternoon, we were all pretty exhausted. On our way back to the campground, we stopped at a small store, bought some pizza and dessert, then spent the rest of the evening relaxing and enjoying each others company.

Going go the Australia Zoo was one of the biggest items on my bucket list. And thanks to our family friend’s, I was able to check that off of the list. I honestly can’t thank them enough for their generosity, and the time they took to show me around parts of Queensland that weekend.

There were only 2 full days left in Australia after this! So two more blogposts about the trip will be coming shortly!

Thanks again for reading!

Until next time,

~Katy

 

Leave a Reply

