Great Times on the Gold Coast

On March 9th, I was dropped off at the Melbourne Airport and boarded a plane to Brisbane!

My family has really close friends that live in Queensland, and while I was planning out my trip, I knew that I wanted to spend time with them while I was there. So near the end of my trip, I headed up north to see Kathy, Barry, and their daughter Corrina, and her daughter.

When I arrived at the Brisbane airport, I walked off the plane onto my gate and they were waiting there for me. I didn’t know that you could do that, so seeing them there and having them greet me with hugs and smiles was really special.IMG_2084

Before we got in the car, we grabbed some coffee, then it was about an hour drive down to the Gold Coast where we stayed with their daughter Lori, and her family. We arrived mid afternoon and were able to relax for a bit.

The family came home later that afternoon after work and I was introduced to everyone. I know that I’ve said it before, but one of the things that made this trip so special was the people I met along the way. I only spent a couple of days with this family, but they made me feel so welcomed and I felt like I was right at home.

We had some pizza for dinner before we made our way to the Springbrook Mountain to look at the glow worms in the Natural Arch. The hike to get cave where the glow worms was pretty easy, and I enjoyed the conversations I got to have when we were walking down there.

I would post pictures of it if I could, but none of the photos turned out very well. It was really neat to see tho. I don’t think I had ever seen anything like it before. But once the phones were off and the flashlights were out, the top of the cave lit up in what looked like stars. It was really neat to see.IMG_2110

When Jordan heard that I was only on the Gold Coast for one night, we ended up heading to this lookout point on our own. The place is called Mt Panorama, and it’s up on this mountain that gives you a view of the Gold Coast. We chatted up there for a while, and he pointed out all of the different beaches and the different buildings that we could see.

IMG_2114By the time we were finished chatting up there it was pretty late. We were going to head home, but since we had been talking about the beach we ended up driving to Broadbeach and spent a short bit of time there. With the city skyline lit up on one side of me, and the ocean right on the other, I don’t think I could have been any happier.

 

We eventually made our way back to the house, and I’m pretty sure I fell asleep right away. I don’t think I realized how long of a day it had been until I got back to the house. Starting with at least an hour long car ride from Geelong to the Melbourne Airport in the morning, flying up to Brisbane, then driving down to the Gold Coast was definitely an adventure.

It was probably one of my favorite days that I had on my trip to Australia. I know I say this a lot, but it’s true. Being able to see friends that are as close as family, and being able to meet their family was really special.

As always, if you have any questions, comments, or stories of trips and time spent on the Gold Coast, or Australia, I’d love to read them and chat with you!

Until next time.

 

Leave a Reply

