Bagels, Books, Bags, and More

After a night out in Melbourne, Lindsey and I woke up early IMG_1963the next morning and headed to the rooftop pool for a swim before exploring the rest of the day.

We headed up to the pool around 7:30 in the morning and we got to watch the sun peek between the buildings as it slowly rose into the sky.  After a quick swim, we packed up and headed out to a cute little cafe. IMG_2823

If you aren’t looking for it, you wouldn’t even know it was there. But this cafe, Lt Nic, had some of the best coffee I had ever tasted. And the food was fantastic.

Once we were finished there, we headed to the Victoria State Library(feature photo). As a former English major, and a great lover of books, I was left speechless at how beautiful the library was. They had so many different books and manuscripts on display, as well as an art gallery on the second floor. We spent a couple of hours there before we made our way over to the Queen Victoria Market.

Queen Vic Market is basically like Seattle’s Pikes Place. There are so many booths and stands where you can buy anything from fresh produce, to clothes. And anything from boomerangs to suitcases.  IMG_1951

After some shopping, we were headed back to the hotel to grab our things for Lindsey to grab a train back to Geelong. Before leaving, she stopped into a candle/body wash shop and one of the employees had lived in Oregon for a little while. So we were able to talk about Portland and the different places to see in Oregon.

Once we made it back to the hotel, we took the trams back towards Southern Cross Station so Lindsey could catch a train back home. I stayed in the city for a few extra hours so I could spend some time with Navine(one of my family members that lives in Melbourne) and have dinner with her.

I took a couple of trams and walked back down to Southbank. After resting for a little bit, I made my way to the building where Navine worked and met with her there. We headed to Haigh’s Chocolate and treated ourselves to some of the best chocolate ever.  We walked around Melbourne a little more, and we went up to the 35th floor of a really nice hotel where we walked into the bathroom and got to look out on the view. Yes, there is an amazing view from the 35th floor bathroom. And we weren’t the only ones who went to this hotel to go take a look at the views!IMG_1954

Afterwards, we walked to the theater district and had dinner at Federici Bistro, right across from the Parliament building. The dinner was great, and being able to spend time with family was even better. We walked a lot about nannying, life in Australia, and of course, our families.

 

Once dinner was finished, it was time for me to head back to Geelong. Navine walked with me to one of the tram stops, and she made sure I knew how to get back to Southern Cross station before we said goodbye.

It was a pretty quick trip back to Geelong, and I was picked up by Lindsey and Rowan. If I remember correctly, I had walked a little over 8 miles that day, so it was an early night for me.

I had one more day with Lindsey and Rowan in Geelong before heading up to the Gold Coast for the weekend. I will be writing about my day in Torquay, and then share about my time on the Gold Coast next!

Thank you so much for reading! As always, please feel free to leave any comments, questions, or your own stories or adventures in Melbourne and Australia!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

