Squares, Donuts, and 88 Floors

On Monday morning, March 6th, Lindsey and I packed a suite case(okay, we had a couple of them) and got on a train to spend the night in downtown Melbourne.

This was definitely one of my favorite parts of the whole trip. If you know me, you know that I love being in the city, so staying at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne  was amazing.IMG_1853

One of the deciding factors in staying at this hotel was definitely the rooftop views and the skyscrapers right behind us.

Once we got to the hotel, we put our stuff down then walked down to Federation Square the found a little cafe for lunch. After that, we walked to St Paul’s Cathedral across the square and spent some time in there. (I would post some photos but we were asked not to).

After spending time there we headed down to Hosier Lane. This alleyway is covered in amazing street art. There were people everywhere taking photos, and watching some of the artists in action. After stopping into a few tourist shops, we walked to Donut Time and got ourselves a treat.

Then, we headed back to the hotel to rest up for a while. We went up to the pool area and sat there for a bit. Then we headed back out into the city for dinner on Southbank. Once we were finished, we headed to the Eureka Tower where you can go to the 88th floor.

I went up by myself, and spent about 40 minutes up there. The views were amazing, and none of my photos will ever do it justice. I, along with hundreds of others found a spot to watch the sunset, then we got to see the city light up once the sun had gone down.

After that, it was a quick walk back to the hotel before getting ready to spend part of the night on rooftop restaurants.

We found a couple of cute restaurants and we were able to enjoy the views, as well as some great conversations. This was definitely one of my favorite parts of the trip. Having some one on one time with a best friend, and being in a new city in a new country will always be something I will look back on with a smile.

Even thinking about it now, I just want to go back. I really fell in love with this city and the country that it’s in.

In my next post, I’ll be talking about the next day that I spent in Melbourne, and I’ll also talk about the other places I was able to see during my trip there.

Thanks for reading my post! As always, if you have any questions, comments, or if you have been to Melbourne and have your own favorite spots or stories from your trip there I would love to hear them!

Until next time!

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑