The Great Ocean Road

I don’t think that I could ever describe the beauty, peace, and awe that I felt when I was fortunate to travel down the Great Ocean Road and see the Gibson Steps, and the Twelve Apostles. ocean

March 4th was an early morning, and the highway along the ocean, the Great Ocean Road, left me feeling nauseous at times, but the views and the sights that I saw that day made it all completely worth it.

We stopped in at a little coffee and donut shop in Lorne before heading on down to the Gibson Steps near Port Campbell. While getting out of the car, you couldn’t see much. But just a few steps further, you looked out onto the ocean.

To my left is one of the apostles. And to my right were the Gibson Steps, and one of Australia’s many beautiful beaches.

ocean1                            ocean2

 

 

 

 

 

I feel like there aren’t very many things that leave me speechless, but being on this beach, and just spending time in the quiet with no phones, camera, or any other distractions was one of the most memorable parts of the trip.

I found a rock that was in the shade(thankfully), and I just sat there. I sat by myself, just in absolute awe and wonder of God and His creation.

I wish my pictures could do this beautiful place justice, and I know that they never really will. But at least I can give you a glimpse at one of the places that left my completely speechless.

ocean3 ocean6

After sitting there for a while, we headed back up the stairs and then drove over to the Twelve Apostles. This place was pretty busy, so we took some photos, and took a few minutes to look, but we quickly headed back towards the car and drove down to the beach at Port Campbell for a picnic lunch. ocean8

After our lunch, we walked up to a little convenience store where we had some ice cream, and I bought some souvenirs. Then, it was time to head home.

Later that evening, I tried a kebab for dinner and really enjoyed that. And we watched a movie and I tried some more Australian candy.

Because it was about a 3 hour drive on the Great Ocean Road to Port Campbell, and then about an hour and a half drive back to Geelong while taking the inland route; we were all pretty tired so it was we called it a night shortly after the movie ended.

But I will never forget how beautiful the sights were on this day.

I am so thankful for the opportunity I had to go on this trip, and especially being able to see the Gibson Steps and the Twelve Apostles.

Looking back on this day, I still can’t find the words to describe it. I think that the very knowledge of knowing that the same God that created all of this chose to create me too is what made this trip so special.  I know that that may sound cheesy or cliche, but that is one of the only ways I can describe it all.

I was able to check an item off of my travel bucket list that day, and it is definitely somewhere that I hope to go to again.

As always, thank you for reading! If you have any questions, comments, or your own stories from visiting Australia, and traveling the Great Ocean Road, I’d love to hear them!

 

Leave a Reply

