Australia Bound!

Hello readers!

As I write this, I am sitting in the LAX airport after a short flight from Portland. After a long and stressful 40 minutes of walking through different terminals and underground tunnels, I finally made it to my gate.

Next stop, Australia!

Because I had connecting flights, the terminal and gate information wasn’t on my boarding pass. So trying to figure out where to go proved to be a lot harder than I would have liked. I think I stopped and asked at least 4 different people where to go, some of them telling me something diffeimg_0518rent than the other. So I’m sure you can imagine how stressful that would be.  

Somehow I found myself near a sign that was directing people to the Qantas first class lounge. So since there were no other signs for Qantas, and still no monitors for me to look at, I walked up to the receptionist and asked for help. Again.

But now I’m here, sitting at gate 154 and couldn’t be more excited to get on this plane and arrive in Australia.

My traveling experiences haven’t been all bad today. My family drove me to the airport to send me off, and the flight to LA was pretty empty, so no one was sitting in the middle seat. The lady sitting in the aisle seat turned to me and said that she was glad the flight was empty and we had more room, and I agreed.

We continued talking and after learning I am going to Australia, we mentioned the different countries we have traveled to. I told her about my trip to China and Vietnam, and that I am adopted.

Eventually, I told her how I am half Chinese and half Japanese; something that I was nervous to share because I have gotten some negative reactions from people who ask me my ethnicity. But as soon as I said that, a huge smile spread across her face. She told me that she married a Japanese man, and her brother in-law (who is Japanese) married a Chinese woman. She asked me how old I was and I told her. Then she said they have a daughter who is exactly my age and we look incredibly similar.

I wanted to see what she looked like, but I thought that asking to see a photo of her or the family would be extremely creepy and possibly out of line. So I decided not too. 

But there is something about what she said that really encouraged me. I can’t really put it into words, but there is just something in the knowledge of it that made me feel at peace. Maybe it was just how she said it.

Because of China and Japan’s history, I had thought a lot of negative things about my ethnicity. I was almost a little embarrassed to say that I am Chinese and Japanese because of the various reactions I have received.

But I think that after hearing I am not the only one, or just getting that confirmation that some people don’t see it in a negative light was so reassuring and comforting.

It’s crazy how God places strangers in our lives sometimes. Someone you don’t know at all can be just the encouragement and comfort that you need.  

It’s about time for me to put my laptop away and get ready to board the plane, but that experience was just something I wanted to share with you.

I will try and keep you all updated on my trip over these next few weeks!

Thank you for reading this long blog post, and as usual, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment or a question!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

