He Provides

Hi everyone,

After months of not writing anything, I am finally sitting myself down at one of my favorite coffee shops to write. To simply write. Now, to be completely honest, I have tried writing a blog post for a long time. But every time I sat down to write something, every time that I thought “yes, I finally have something that I want to write about!” I would lose motivation and stop midway.

But today I am going to share with you anything and everything that comes to mind, so brace yourself for what may be a sort of unorganized post.

These past few months have been so crazy. Full of change, excitement, adjustment, and learning new things about myself and the passions that God has placed in my heart.

After being in school for 4 years, and living on my own, the adjustment to living back at home has been a hard one. I am so thankful for my family, for my parents who are so happy to have me home. But as I have told them, to go from living on my own and so independently, to moving back in with my parents has been hard. Leaving all of my friends in California has been hard.

As for work, I am currently a full-time nanny for a great family who has one little girl, an 8 month old, who is an absolute ray of sunshine(even on her fussy days). Is it the job that I had wanted after getting an English degree? No. But am I reminding myself to be thankful to have a full time job? Yes, every day.

Trying to find a job in my preferred field has been hard. Every job that I am interested in requires 2-5 years of experience in either writing or customer service, both of which I don’t have. But I am continuing to look for other jobs. The family that I currently work for know that I am looking for writing jobs as well. The mom has even helped me look for jobs. I know that they are just as excited and eager as I am to find a job where I can start pursuing a career in the writing field. So prayers for this situation would be much appreciated.

Jumping back to the friends situation, I am learning more and more to rely on God, and to focus on my relationship with Him. At the beginning of August, I had the opportunity to go to CIY Move (Christ in Youth) as an adult leader/sponsor with my church’s high school youth group. Since then, I have started to become more and more involved with the church. Each Monday evening after work, I get to go and spend time with the high schoolers at the youth group. And starting this week, I will be more involved with the middle school youth group as well. aaaaa

And with all of this, our church has started a young adults group and I am excited to be a part of that. Just last Thursday, our church had their first young adult meeting. I got to meet a lot of new people, hear a great message, and just share in fellowship and community with other people around my age.

So even though I am missing my friends down in California every day, and my other friends in other states, and other countries, I am so thankful that God has provided me. He has provided me with so many opportunities to not only spend time with the high schoolers and middle schoolers, but to also minister to them.awdc

He has provided me with new friends, and times of fellowship with other people my age who have the same desire to know God better, and to love Him and serve Him.

So after writing this, I realize that this blog post is really about thankfulness. Even though this time of transitioning and adjusting has been difficult, God provides. And I am so thankful for that.

Philippians 4:19 says “And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus”.

He has provided me with a place to stay with my family. He has provided a job for me. He has provided new friends for me, and He has also placed a desire in my heart to serve Him in the church, and in the community.

So as you continue on with your day, or your evening, I hope and pray that you can feel God’s love and His presence in your life. Whatever you may be going through, or whatever you may be doing, please know that God provides. He has got your back, and knows exactly what you need. Everything will come in His perfect timing, and He knows what He is doing.

In future blog posts, I will continue sharing my story along with different events and trips that I have been able to be a part of this past summer.

Thank you all for the encouragement and support over these past few months!

Until next time,

~Katy

Leave a Reply

