Finding Hope

With it being Easter weekend, my mind has been on the love and power of Christ. His sacrifice on the cross, and His resurrection on the third day gives us all a chance to be born again, and to live with Him forever.

Romans 6:4 says “We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.” It is in Him that we have a new identity, in Him where we are found, and in Him that we may have a new life.

I going to focus on the identity part. Identity is something that I struggled with for years. So I want to take you back to when I really realized that I was different, and that I was adopted.

I was 9 years old, sitting in the third grade classroom. I remember one day all of the girls around me were talking about when they were born, and who they looked like more; their father or their mother. They talked about seemingly small things like, whether they had hair on their heads when they were born, or which hospital they were born in. But it was this small, casual conversation that had a lasting effect  on me, and my identity.

“Where was I born?”

“Who do I look more like, my mom or my dad?”

“Will I ever get to know?”

It all just seemed so unfair.

They all knew where they came from. They knew what their parents looked like, and knew that they had their features. But I didn’t. And there was a deep longing to know where I came from, and who I looked like.

Now, as I’ve mentioned before, my parents told me I was adopted, I had always known. But it wasn’t up until this point that I really realized that I was different. It wasn’t until this point that I realized that I had all of these questions in my head with answers that I may never know.

With this realization, it started a snowball effect as to how I started questioning, doubting, and even becoming angry at God, and at my birth parents.

It took 8 years for me to resolve this issue of identity. It took so many people, and events to take place before I finally started looking to God for the answers to my questions, rather than running away from Him out of hurt and confusion, and looking at all of the things I didn’t have, and trying to find these answers through earthly things.

In my future blog posts, I’ll continue to share my story, and share about the people, trips, and other events that took place before I turned to Him.

But for right blognow, my hope for you is that it doesn’t take you this long. If you are struggling with any confusion, doubt, or anger towards anyone, and towards God, I hope that you will soften your heart to hear what He has to say.

His arms are open, and He is waiting for you to place your hope and trust in Him.

On this Easter Sunday, remember the sacrifice that Jesus made for you. He died on the cross, and rose again. He has given us the opportunity to live with Him. All we have to do is accept His invitation. He is ready, and waiting for us to follow Him. He wants you to realize that you are His child.

Your identity is found in Christ.

You are loved by Him. You are wanted by Him. And you are chosen by Him.

Philippians 3:20 says “ But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ…”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Finding Hope

  1. Katy, you are an inspiration. We all have our demons and obstacles that have been placed along our path, but you’ve chosen to face them and share it. I’m inspired. Your parents always inspired me with the way they raised you girls, always trying to give you as many answers as they could or just sit alongside you on the way when they had no answers. I always told your mom what great girls she had, and you are proving it again and again. I can’t attempt to understand your journey to finding your identity, but I do know that you are an amazing girl and I’m so honored to know you. Hugs to you! And may the journey be full of surprises, strength and growth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

