“Wait, You’re Adopted?”

It was a cold evening on December 24, 1993.  The streets were still busy like they usually were in Hefei, China, but there was something different that a police officer noticed. He saw a baby abandoned on the bench, and that baby was me.

***

When people first meet me, they don’t know that I’m adopted from China. Is that a bad thing? Of course not! But when people get to know me, and they hear my whole story, they usually say something along the lines of “I had no idea that you went through all of that”, “God has given you this amazing story, and I know that He has a great plan for you”, and “you should continue to share your story”. So that is exactly what I am going to do here.

Now, did I always believe that God has a great plan for me? No. Did I hate the word “adopted” and think of it more as a curse than a blessing? Yes. I struggled with what many children, teenagers, and adults all struggle with at points in their life, especially those who have been adopted. I dealt with depression, a strong feeling of being unwanted, unloved, and the feeling that I am a mistake. Anxiety, abandonment issues, and identity crises are very common in adopted teens; and I have experienced all of these.

I was searching for answers about who I am in all of these earthly things. But once I realized that I should be looking to God, I realized that my identity is in Him. And that is when my life took a turn for the better.

Through my story, and God’s word, I hope that you and others who hear will not only find hope and encouragement, but will realize that your identity is in Christ, and Him alone.

With all of the experiences that I went through, my hope is that it will help you find comfort, encouragement, peace, and remind you that you are not alone.

For adoptees specifically, there are thousands of other children, teenagers, and adults who share a similar story. You are not alone.

For families who have, or are praying about adoption, I hope that you find this blog encouraging, and reassuring; especially when your child may have questions, doubts, or are suffering from any of the symptoms that are so often found in adopted children.

And for those of you who may be struggling with identity, or simply feel alone or worthless, I hope that you will find truth and confirmation that you are not alone.

3 Crosses

There are three things that I would like to leave you with as I wrap up this post.

You are loved, you are wanted, you are chosen.

 But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light”.  ~1 Peter 2:9

 

One thought on ““Wait, You’re Adopted?”

  1. Beautifully written, Tooters! It is good to hear your story. Some of us who have known you and loved you, did not know all the pain you experienced. These are all such natural feelings, and it’s great to have a safe place to share them here. You are, and always have been God’s handiwork. It’s exciting to see how you have “Bloomed where you’ve been planted.” Love you, baby girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

